The Simmons Factory Warehouse was built in 1912 by the Alaska Bedding Company, but is best known for its long-term association with Simmons Canada beginning in 1919. The warehouse was rehabilitated by CMLC and re-opened to the public in 2015 as a multi-restaurant amenity for the new East Village.
St. Louis Hotel
The St. Louis Hotel in East Village is a designated heritage building and a storied local landmark where some of Calgary’s most colourful characters met, planned and made history.
Bought by Calgary Municipal Land Corporation in 2008 and carefully restored over two years, the three-storey building is now home to CMLC’s corporate headquarters on the top two floors.
Despite high hopes of honouring the Cecil Hotel’s historical significance and incorporating the landmark building into the fabric of the newly revitalized East Village, the old building has been demolished based on the findings of several due diligence investigations.
In August 2015, the historic Cecil Hotel sign was removed and refurbished. It is currently installed in the St. Louis Hotel as a temporary art installation, but ultimately is intended for future community use.
George C. King Bridge
The George C. King Bridge (formerly known as the St. Patrick's Island Bridge and colloquially known as the Skipping Stone Bridge) is a pedestrian bridge that spans the Bow River just northeast of Downtown Calgary. The bridge was built by the Calgary Municipal Land Corporation (CMLC) as part of the wider redevelopment of East Village, in tandem with a $45 million redevelopment of St. Patrick's Island Park. Planning for the new bridge began in 2009, with construction getting underway in 2012.
An inclusive, thriving, and vibrant East Village where all are welcome to live, learn, work, and play.
To encourage conversation and interaction to create a sense of belonging and ownership for all who live, work, and play in East Village.
Mail: 610 8 Avenue S.E.